Having a light bulb moment!

Oh my goodness … I am totally having a light bulb moment!! I was baking this morning (yes baking!!  That was after making two loaves of bread … yer baby!!)  and heard our 10yr old reading the bible to the other three.

She was reading Matt, specifically Matt 14: 22-33 …

Jesus Walks on the Water

Immediately He made the disciples get into the boat and go ahead of Him to the other side, while He sent the crowds away. After He had sent the crowds away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray; and when it was evening, He was there alone. But the boat was already a long distance from the land, battered by the waves; for the wind was contrary. And in the fourth watch of the night He came to them, walking on the sea. When the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were terrified, and said, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out in fear. But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid.”

Peter said to Him, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.” And He said, “Come!” And Peter got out of the boat, and walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But seeing the wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, “Lord, save me!”  Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him, and said to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” When they got into the boat, the wind stopped. And those who were in the boat worshiped Him, saying, “You are certainly God’s Son!”

I am picking the hearing had something to do with it … let those with ears hear!  It is often me doing the reading, so don’t get to ‘hear’ it read.  But this morning was a little different, for many reasons.

God used this moment to speak to me in the kitchen, while the children read the word out loud in the lounge.  It was honestly like a light bulb went ‘ping’!  Talk about a deeper revelation, a deeper appreciation, a deeper understanding!

Although I am again surviving on very little sleep – thanks to children who yell out in their sleep, amongst other reasons – I will try to articulate what He said and revealed this morning … bear with me!

Firstly, God said to me – I never called Peter without him asking to be called.  There was readiness there.  True Lord, Peter was saying ‘hey if that’s you Jesus, then tell me to come, as I know without you I am not capable of the journey.’

Have you ever had a word from God and you have heard yourself say ‘Lord, if that is you, then set the path before me, open the doors, I am a yes.’  You are scared to take that first step.  Well, I sense Him saying He never asks us to be more then He has created us capable of being.  And He waits for us to give the nod, so to speak.

We often talk about the Peter/boat scripture and we talk about the faith it took to step out of the boat, but this morning, He was talking to me about the willingness for the call.  As He stands before us and we say ‘is that you Lord?’, then the process of faith and trust begins.  We ask if it is Him, then we step out of the boat.  But before we step out we cry ‘Lord is that really you? If it is, then command me to come.’  What?  Did Peter say command?  Did he say to Jesus to command him to come? By the command we realise and acknowledge that we are not capable of anything without Christ equipping us first, by the power of His very word to come.  That’s when Peter was given the ability to walk on water … At Jesus very word to come.

I have never read it like that before! Never seen the desire from Peter for Jesus to command him, the knowledge that he can’t do it without the call. I often ask God if it is really Him, but have never then gone on to ask for a command for Him to call me out, knowing my own weakness of the flesh.

The beatitudes clearly states that blessed are those who are poor in Spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.  So those who understand that they can’t walk on water without Him.

As I hear His voice and acknowledge it is Him, I feel it is time to ask Jesus to command me, us, to the calling He has on our lives to get out of the boat! Knowing my flesh is weak, but when He calls, the power of Christ rises up to do the task.  And then I think the trick is to keep the focus on Him. As we all know, Peter only sunk when he took His eyes off Jesus and saw the effects the storm was having on the sea.

Yep, been there, done that! I’ve sunk many a time and screamed out for him to pull me up out of the waves.

In fact, I had a ‘hopeless’ day the other day. I kind of had a bit of a melt down. And the comfort He gave me was this scripture …

2 Corinthians 4: 7-9
We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

So although we see the storm, know that the pressure is on, and know that we have the potential to sink, we love a God who reaches out His hand and pulls us up if we do sink or fall over.  He is just that kind of God.

So I guess what I am trying to share is that when we hear His voice, we then ask Jesus to command us to get out of the boat and we do the very thing He is equipping us for – to walk on water – because The Power is at work in us, as He calls us out.

Be encouraged that when He calls He equips you.  Know that He calls us to different ways to build His kingdom, and all underpinned by His love in us, His power in us and for His glory.

Know that as He stands before you, yes it is Him, ask Him to call you out of your boat.  He has some walking on water for us to do.  Thank you Lord!

6 thoughts on “Having a light bulb moment!

  1. Hi Naggie,
    Love this! Though my reading of it is that Peter asked Jesus to command him to come. But anyway, what you have written is a new perspective on a very familiar story to me too – love it when God does that! It seems like he shows us new things as we have different needs and new experiences.
    Recently heard the song ‘Oceans’ by Hillsong and appreciate the picture of walking with Him ‘where feet may fail’, a place of ‘trust without borders.’ We can do the impossible when we are in Christ.
    Jo

    • Hi Jo.
      So after our chat today, I thought I should re read the blog, with eyes wide open … And I totally see what you mean, in my exhaustion, I totally got it back to front and had written the blog completely upside down and round the wrong way!! Well spotted 🙂
      I have edited it now, and hope it makes more sense this time round.
      Note to self … Don’t write a blog when you are totally shattered lol!!
      Love me 😀

  2. Love it!! Great to hear your listening ears are turning on!! How many times do we say that to our kids ah. Look forward to catching up xx

    • Oh how true is that!!
      He is the Father, therefore surely being His children we have the same lessons to learn as our children get told by us every day!!
      I’ve said many a time ‘turn on your taringas’ (is that how you spell it lol).
      Oh if we took some of our own advise …
      Big hugs 😊

  3. Great post. The courage to ask him to call us, and when he calls us, he definitely equips us. Our focus must remain on him, though he faithfully reaches to help us when we falter. Our God is an amazingly grace-filled God.

Leave a Reply

